Knowing your Council Members

The Austin City Council is comprised of 10 District Council Members and the Mayor. The City Hall is located in the heart of downtown on 301 W. 2nd St.

Austin’s Mayor Steve Adler is the 52nd Mayor in the history of Austin. Adler was elected December 16, 2014 in a runoff election. Adler ran against Mike Martinez in the general election on November 4, 2014. Six other candidates were in the race. Martinez finished second with 29.6% of the vote. Adler received 36.8% of the vote.

Only 175,165 people voted in the general election. The total population of the city of Austin in 2014 was 878,733.

The runoff is the result of election laws that state a candidate must win a majority in order to be elected as Mayor. In the runoff election Adler received 67% and Martinez received 33%. Only 77,798 people came back to vote in the runoff election.

Adler went to Princeton before moving to Austin to go to law school at the University of Texas. His term ends in January 2019.